Scott Perry Elected As House Freedom Caucus Chairman

Share this story:

The conservative House Freedom Caucus announced that it has elected Rep. Scott Perry, R-Pa., as its new chairman.

Perry, an ally of former President Donald Trump, has been a part of the coalition of conservative lawmakers since it was formed in 2015.

“For the past six years, I have stood shoulder to shoulder with the men and women of the Freedom Caucus as we have tirelessly fought to hold the line to promote liberty, safety and prosperity for Americans,” Perry said in a statement. “I am grateful to continue to carry the torch for these champions of freedom.”

The current chairman of the caucus, Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., will remain in his leadership position until Jan. 1. Biggs is constrained by term limits from serving again.

“It has been an honor and privilege to lead this fierce group, as we battled to secure our border, restore fiscal sanity and protect Americans’ liberties in the wake of government overreach,” Biggs said in a statement of support.

“Since the establishment of the House Freedom Caucus,” he said, “Scott Perry has been an essential voice. I am confident that he will continue to hold the establishment accountable and demand that Republicans ‘do what they said they would do.’”

Perry ran against Reps. Warren Davidson, R-Ohio, and Ralph Norman, R-S.C., for the top spot, and was viewed as a frontrunner throughout the race.

Perry is one of several House Republicans who helped Trump contest the results of the 2020 presidential election. However, Perry has downplayed his own role in the election challenge, arguing his only focus now is the Biden administration and its unconstitutional actions.

“This is unfortunately another distraction from the Biden administration and Democrats who don’t want to talk about the failed exit from Afghanistan, who don’t want to talk about the economy and seven percent inflation,” he said in October.

Leave a Reply